Five Minute Friday: Broken

With enormous gratitude for this topic, I am thankful for Lisa-Jo Baker at lisajobaker.com and the Five Minute Friday community. Tonight’s prompt for five minutes of free write is “Broken” and I absolutely most certainly positively and definitely got5onit…

***GO***

Broken glass, broken mirror, broken things
Broken promises, broken trust, broken hearts, broken families, broken spirits
Broken world…

In our world, that which is broken is often discarded
But all that breaks is not broken…

Waves break, dawn breaks
We break silence, we break records, we break barriers

And much of what’s broken can be restored…

Restored by love
Restored by faith
Restored by Grace

In my journey, I’ve found myself broken and made new time and time again…
I have been inspired by those who take discarded relics and restore them to beauty and new purpose. It reminds me of Someone…

Yes, this is a broken world… but as my heart breaks to witness it, my desire to be part of mending it is restored. Restored by heart, restored by His promise, restored by kindness and love, by compassion and patnership. Restored by Him through us.

***Time***

This prompt has been a Gift, on a day I learned of more broken-ness in the world, which broke my heart… and he made me new with a desire and a passion and an opportunity to be part of restoration, following a day I was inpired by a group that does the same using discards from a dump to make musical instruments for poor children in Latin America who would otherwise never have exposure to music that connects them to the world in ways they nor their parents imagined. And in a time in my life when the idea of “Beautifully Broken” means more to me than it ever did. Grateful.

11 responses to “Five Minute Friday: Broken”

  1. claygirlsings says :

    Broken to being restored – that’s a great thought. You have to be broken before restoration can happen, don’t you? Thanks for this.

  2. Nancy says :

    This is an awesome post!

    • SM says :

      Thanks Nancy! And thanks also for linking back your post, which was great! We are so blessed that our familes, once broken, are restored through Christ, aren’t we!!!

  3. Barbie says :

    Such a beautiful post! Thank you for sharing!

  4. dancinmoma says :

    Wonderful words. Feeling so blessed to read everyone’s posts about the word “Broken.” Did my first “Five Minute Friday” earlier at http://www.dancinmoma.wordpress.com πŸ™‚ It was very freeing to write without overthinking/editing! πŸ™‚ Following you now! πŸ™‚

    • smcgintysd says :

      super fun, right??? It’s amazing what comes out in 5 minutes… such an exercise in boldness and vulnerability for me. hope you keep coming back! Looking forward to reading more from you!

  5. mylifeaslori says :

    Loved reading your thoughts on this topic. Than,s for sharing!

Leave a Reply

